Melodifestivalen 2019 Starts Tonight

Melodifestivalen 2019
Photo By: SVT

Sweden’s national selection method kicks-of tonight from Gothenburg. The show will last 6 weeks – 4 Semifinals, 1 Second Chance (Andra Chansen) and 1 Final. At the four semi-finals, we will see 28 acts but only 12 will make it to the final (two from each semifinal and four from second chance). 2019 will mark the 59th edition of the show. Presenters of the six shows will be Eric Saade (Melodifestivalen 2010, 2011, 2015 – Eurovision 2011), Sarah Dawn Finer (Melodifestivalen 2007, 2009, Lynda Woodruff), Marika Carlsson and Kodjo Akolor.

This year’s contest will see the return from many artists. A total of 21 returning artists will sing in this year’s edition, some of them will sing solo for the first time. Lina Hedlund had previously participated as part of Alcazar. Omar Rudberg and Oscar Enestad former members of FO&O will both now try solo.

Semi-Final 1

Tonight, the first semi-final will be live from Gothenburg. Seven acts will try to win one of the two tickets for the Final. Those who will finish third and fourth they’ll have a Second Chance in 2nd of March.

Five of the seven artists have previously participated. The only newcomers are the girl band High15 and the duo Zeana feat. Anis Don Demina.

  • Nano

The show will be opened by Nano, with his song “Chasing Rivers”. Nano will try for a second time to win the contest. His first attempt was in 2017 when he finished 2nd behind of Robin Bengtsson.

  • High15

The girl band will sing the song “No Drama”. The band is formed by four 16-year-old girls from Sweden and Finland.

  • Wiktoria

The blond country-pop singer will return to the contest, after two attempts back in 2016 and 2017. This time her song will be a ballad with the title “Not With Me”.

  • Zeana feat. Anis Don Demina

The duo will debut in the contest with the song “Mina Bränder”.

  • Arja Saijonmaa

The finish singer is returning to the contest, after two previous attempts in 1987 and in 2005, with her song “Mina Fyra Årstider”.

  • Mohombi

The Swedish-Congolese singer will sing for the second time to the Melodifestivalen, he had tried back in 2005, with the song “Hello”.

  • Anna Bergendahl

The winner of the 2010 edition is back with the song “Ashes To Ashes”. Anna won in 2010, in her debut to the contest, but didn’t manage to qualify to the grand final of Eurovision – the only Swedish entry to do so.

You can watch the semifinal live from SVT Play here. (20:00 CET)

What do you think about Melodifestivalen? Is Sweden going to win for its seventh time this year? Write your thoughts on the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s