Artist Profile: Iceland 2019 – Hatari

Iceland 2019.jpg
Photo by: RUV

This year, Iceland is represented by the techno, punk-rock, anti-capitalism, BDSM group Hatari. Hatari consists of Klemens Nikulásson Hannigan, Matthías Tryggvi Haraldsson and Einar Hrafn Stefánsson. The group is formed in 2015 by Klemens and Matthías, Einar joined later. In 2017, Hatari released their first Extended Play.

Klemens Nikulásson Hannigan is the clean vocalist. He is currently studying fine arts at the Icelandic Academy of Arts. Matthías Tryggvi Haraldsson is the harsh vocalist. He is a journalist and writer. He graduated from the Iceland Academy of the Arts as a theatre and performance artist. Einar Hrafn Stefánsson is the drummer. He is a musician, a producer and sound engineer. Einar has also played for other bands too.

Their song “Hatrið Mun Sigra” which means “Hate Will Prevail”. The entry won Söngvakeppnin – Icelandic national final. It is noteworthy that the song reached first place on the country’s charts.

Iceland performs 13th in the first semifinal.

What do you think about the song? Is it going to give the country its first win? Write your thoughts on the comment box below.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s