Winners Of The Decade! – Denmark 2013

Photo By: EBU

On this new series of weekly posts, we remind you the winners of the past decade! Can you believe that another Eurovision decade has passed? The 10 songs that got the gold for their countries will be presented in random order!

In this decade we saw, of course, ten winners. From that number Sweden won two times. Azerbaijan and Portugal won for their first time and Germany and Austria for second time. The Netherlands won for the fifth time after 44 years! Moreover, Ukraine, Denmark and Israel mark their 2nd, 3rd and 4th win respectively. 

Denmark in ESC

Denmark debuted at the contest in 1957 with the song “Skibet skal sejle i nat” by Birthe Wilke and Gustav Winckler. Their entry finished 3rd with 10 points.

From 1957, until today Denmark has participated in a total of forty-eight times, missing the contest fifteen times – 1967-1977, 1994, 1996, 1998 and 2003. From the 48 contests, the country has missed the finals 4 times, missing it in 2004, 2007, 2015 and 2016. The country has won three times in 1963, 2000 and 2014.

It has achieved the Top-10 twenty-six times, three times the 1st, one time the 2nd place and three times the 3rd. It has also placed one time in 7th place, two times in 4th and 10th, three times in 8th, four in the 9th and five times 5th. Its worst result in the final is the 24th place – last in 2002 – whilst in the semis, it has finished 19th with 45 points in 2007.

Denmark in 2013

In 2013, the contest was held in Malmö, Sweden, after its last year’s win. Denmark chose its representative for the contest through a national final, Dansk Melodi Grand Prix. The winner of the national final was Emmelie De Forest. Her song “Only Teardrops” was the winner of the national final, with 26 points.

The song was composed by Lise Cabble, Julia Fabrin Jakobsen and Thomas Stengaard. The song came first in the semi with 167 points and on the night of the final achieved again the first place with 281 points.

Emmelie De Forest

Emmelie was born on 28th February 1993, in Randers, Denmark. Her full name is Emmelie Charlotte-Victoria de Forest. Her mother is from Denmark and her father was from Sweden. She started singing at the age of 9. In 2013 she competed in the national final and not only won it but also the Eurovision. Since then she has released two studio albums, one EP and a couple of singles. She is also the co-writer of Anja Nissen’s entry to the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix in 2016 – “Never Alone” – and UK’s Eurovision entry in 2017 “Never Give Up on You”. Her latest album was released in 2018.

What do you think about the song? Do you like it? Do you think is it one of the most memorable entries from Denmark? Let us know in the comment box below.


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s