National Final Reminder: Minus One – Shine!

Photo By:

We continue the National Final Reminder with something from 2015. Today, we will travel to Cyprus.

Cyprus back in 2015 decided its representative through “Eurovision Song Project”. Six entries competed in the final of the national selection.

The song “Shine” was one of those 6 entries performed by Minus One. The song is composed by Giorgos Solonos, Amarina Solonos and Francois Micheletto and placed 3rd at the end of the show.

Minus One is a Cypriot rock band that was formed in 2009. The members that participated in the national final were  Francois Micheletto, Constantinos Amerikanos, Harrys Pari, Antonis Loizides and Chris J. The current members are Andreas Kapatais, Chris J, Constantinos Amerikanos, Orestis Savva and Harrys Pari. At the beginning, the band cover famous songs, but more recently they have performed original songs too. In 2014, CyBC asked the band to represent Cyprus in Eurovision, but the country never took part. In 2015, Minus One entered the national final and placed 3rd. In 2016, CyBC internally selected the band for the contest.

Their ESC song “Alter Ego” was composed by Minus One and Thomas G:son. The entry placed 21st in the final with 96 points and reached the 14th place in the Swedish charts. Their debut album was released in late 2018.

What do you think about the song? What do you think about the artists? Let us know on the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s