Finland 2022: UMK 2022 – Tonight The Final!

Photo By: UMK’s Official Twitter Account

UMK’s final will take place tonight!

UMK – Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu – the Finnish national selection will return this year for the 10th consecutive year. Hosts of the contest will be Paula Vesala and Miisa Rotola-Pukkila. The final of the show will take place on February 26th. The show will have commentary on 6 languages: Finnish, Swedish, Russian, English, Inari Sami and Northern Sami. The winner will be selected with 25% of an International jury and 75% of the Finnish public.

1. The Rasmus – “Jezebel”

The Rasmus is a Finnish rock band that was in 1994, in Helsinki. Its current formation consists of Lauri Ylönen (vocals), Eero Heinonen (bass), Aki Hakala (drums) and Emilia Suhonen (guitar). The band gained international success with its 2003 single “In The Shadows”. Throughout the years, they have released 9 studio albums – all of which charted in Finland – and they have sold 5 million albums worldwide.

2. Isaac Sene – “Kuuma jäbä”

Isaac Sene was born in Siilinjärvi, Finland to a Senegalese father and a Finnish mother. During his childhood he was exposed to a variety of music styles. He currently lives in Helsinki.

3. Olivera – “Thank God I’m Atheist”

Oliveira is the stage name of Katriina Ullakko. She is a young Finnish singer and songwriter that was born in 1994, in Espoo, Finland. She is into music since the age of 11 and her style is indie pop songs.

4. Bess – “Ram pam pam”

Bess is a young Finnish singer and songwriter that rose to fame in 2017, when she released her debut single. The song managed to perform very good at the local charts. Since then she has released a number of singles. Her debut album was released in 2019. The album was titled “Bess” and was certified platinum in Finland.

5. Younghearted – “Sun Numero”

Younghearted is a Finnish indie pop band that was formed in 2015 in Helsinki. It consists of Reeta Huotarinen (vocals), Atte Ranta (guitar, vocals) and Emil Korkiakoski (guitar). Their first song was released in 2015 and their second single was certified gold. Their debut album was released a year later, reaching the 15th place on local chars and being certified gold. Later that year, their first EP was released. Their second album was released in 2019 and reached the 11th place on the album charts. Their first music release since 2019 is their UMK entry.

6. Cyan Kicks – “Hurricane”

Cyan Kicks is a Finnish alternative rock band. It was formed in Helsinki in 2016 and it consists of Susanna Alexandra (vocals), Niila Perkkiö (guitar), Leevi Erkkilä (bass) and Pietari Reijonen (drums). The band singed with Ranka Kustannus (a Finnish record label) in 2017. Since then they have released a number of singles and two albums.

7. Tommi Läntinen – “Elämä kantaa mua”

Tommi Pekka Läntinen better known as simply Tommi Lätinen was born in August 22, 1959, in Turku, Finland. He is a well-known singer and songwriter. His career dates back to the ’80s when he was singing for a number of bands. In 1993, he began his solo career, releasing his first solo album a year later. His considered one of the best selling solo male artists in Finland. He has released 7 studio albums. His upcoming album will be released the following months and it has the same title as his UMK entry. The album comes more than a decade since his latest release.

You can listen to all the participating entries on our Playlist below!

What do you think about the running order? Who do you think will win the Finnish national final? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s