ESC 2022: Meet The Rasmus From Finland!

Photo By: Venla Shalin/ Milla Määttä/Yle

This year Finland selected The Ramus as its ESC representatives. The Rasmus is a four-member rock band that was formed in 1994 in Helsinki, Finland.

The current formation of the band consists of Lauri Ylönen (vocals), Eero Heinonen (bass), Aki Hakala (drums) and Emilia “Emppu” Suhonen (guitar). Lauri Ylönen and Eero Heinonen are members since the formation of the band, when the were high school students. Back then, the band held their first gig in a school party. A year later, they released their debut EP.

In 1996, The Rasmus signed with Warner Music Finland and released their debut album. Since then the band has become famous worldwide, especially for their 2003 single “In The Shadows”. The have released 9 studio albums (most recent one in 2017), 3 EPs and 30 singles.

In early 2022, the band entered the Finnish national final, UMK, with their song “Jezebel”. The Rasmus won the national final placing 1st on both the jury and the public voting, thus gaining the right to represent Finland in Eurovision.

Their entry is composed by Lauri Ylönen and Desmond Child. It is noteworthy that “Jezebel” reached the 4th place on the Finnish charts and also charted in both the Czech Republic and Denmark.

The song will open the second semifinal.

What do you think about the song? Will Finland manage to win for the second time? Write your thoughts in the comments below!


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s