Norway 2023: MGP – Guide for the 2nd Semifinal!

Photo By: NRK

Melodi Grand Prix continues this Saturday!

The second semifinal of the Norwegian national final will take place on January 21, at 19:50 CET. Seven entries will try to win one of the three tickets of the national final!

How it works

Melodi Grand Prix is the Norwegian national final for Eurovision. This year, NRK received the feedback of the public and decided to change the format of the selection process. The number of semifinals has now been reduced from four to three. Moreover, the last chance round has been completely scratched along with the duels and the pre-qualified acts. Now, all the artists must qualify from one of the semis in order to have a chance to sing in the final! The three artists with the most points at the end of each semifinal will advance to the next phase of the show.

Alejandro Fuentes – Fuego

Alejandro gained fame through his participation in the Norwegian Idol in 2005. Over the years, he has been known both as a solo artist and part of the band “Gitarkameratene”. He also participated in MGP in 2018 with the song “Tengo Otra”.

Bjørn Olav Edvardsen – Turn Off My Heart

Bjørn is also known for his participation the Norwegian version of Idol, back in 2005, where he was a finalist. Throughout the years he has been an established artist in Norway. This year, he will make his MGP debut as an artist.

Ella – Waist

Raphaela Antônia Souza Silva, a.k.a. Ella was born in Brazil, but she moved to Norway at the age of 12. She is a young artist, that released her debut single just last year!

Elsie Bay – Love You in a Dream

Elsie Bay is the stage name of Elsa Søllesvik, a 25-year-old singer and songwriter from Haugesund. She rose to fame as part of the duo Elsie & Emilie. In 2021, she co-composed “Witch Woods” for MGP. In 2022, except of her entry “Death Of Us”, she also co-composed “Hammer Of Thor” for the Norwegian national final. Both entries managed to reach the final of MGP. “Death Of Us” reached the Gold Final of the show.

Jone – Ekko inni meg

Jonas Nes Steinset, a.k.a. Jone, is a Norwegian artist. He released his debut song in 2020. Today, he has released a number of singles and will make his debut in MGP.

Sandra Lyng – Drøm d bort

Sandra Lyng Haugen, or better known as Sandra Lyng, was born in 1987 in Norway. She is a singer and songwriter, known for her participation in the Norwegian version of Idol in 2004, where she placed 4th. She released her debut single in 2004, while her debut album was released in 2005. Her second and more recent one was released in 2019.

Swing’it – Prohibition

Swing’it is a Norwegian band that was formed in 2014. The band consists of Martin Jarl Velsin, Leif Peter Vilhelm Grahn, Edvard Bondi Knowles, Jan Ivar Ekroll, Vebjørn Mamen, Håvard Mathisen Tanner and Håkon Kvam. The group started as a street act, before touring in Europe and the USA.

Listen to all the available entries on our playlist below!

The semifinal will be live at 19:50 CET this Saturday and you can watch it here: NRK!

Are you going to watch the semifinal this Saturday? What do you think about the participants? What do you think about the songs? Let us know in the comments below!


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s